Message sent from:




The Teach Computing curriculum is structured into units for each year group, and each unit is broken down into lessons. Units can generally be taught in any order, with the exception of programming, where concepts and skills rely on prior knowledge and experiences. Lessons must be taught in numerical order.

The units for key stages 1 and 2 are based on a spiral curriculum. This means that each of the themes is revisited regularly (at least once in each year group), and pupils revisit each theme through a new unit that consolidates and builds on prior learning within that theme. This style of curriculum design reduces the amount of knowledge lost through forgetting, as topics are revisited yearly. It also ensures that connections are made even if different teachers are teaching the units within a theme in consecutive years.

Year 1

Year 2

Year 3

Year 4

Year 5

Year 6


Ongoing teacher assessment of whether the children are showing understanding and implementation of the skills allows teachers to recognise whether children are working at age related or not. Our skills progression map supports these observations through breaking down skills the children should be developing within each year of their ICT journey throughout school. Lessons are scaffolded by questioning, resources and adult support so that ICT is accessible to all pupils.

Hit enter to search